I was feeling inspired this weekend, so I thought I’d try something new. At the moment I’m planning to give something different a go every week, whether a food, recipe or exercise, but I don’t know how that’ll pan out. This weekend, as the weather was so beautiful, I made a popular picnic food – Scotch eggs – Slimming World style. The recipe is from the Slimming World Extra Easy Summer Days cookbook, and if anyone is following SW and wants to make them, they are 2.5 syns each.

From memory, this is more or less how I made them:

Boil 4 medium eggs for 5 minutes, then immediately immerse in cold water for 4 minutes.

In the meantime, roughly chop 400g of lean pork steak and finely chop 125g of lean bacon. Add to a food processor with 1tsp medium curry powder (the recipe says 1tbsp mild curry powder) and 1.5tbsp mixed herbs (the recipe says 1tsp mixed herbs and 2tbsp parsley but I had to improvise) and blend until smooth.

Shell the eggs. Divide the meat mixture into 4, and flatten one portion in the palm of one hand. Place an egg on top and wrap the meat around it. Repeat for the other eggs.

Beat an egg in a bowl and spread 50g wholemeal breadcrumbs over a plate. Dip the Scotch eggs in the egg and then roll in the crumbs to coat. Place on a baking sheet, spray with Frylight and bake at gas mark 6 for 20-25 minutes.

I love these, and they’re really filling, so definitely a good food for me. I serve them with a plain salad – and they are great for packed lunches too. The only qualm I have is whether they are worth the money to make them regularly.

So why am I trying new things every week? There are two main reasons for this for me. Firstly, I think it is really important to have a varied diet, both to make sure I’m getting all the right nutrients and to stop me getting bored. That leads me on to the second reason, which is that when I reach my target I don’t want to find myself with a list of ‘safe’ foods in mind to stick to – I want to live a normal life not restricted by what I ‘can’ eat. There is another reason too – by trying new things I will hopefully find more foods and types of exercise that I can enjoy in my new, healthy lifestyle.

Variety-is-the-Spice

