I love barbecues, I really do.  (Cue Homer-style salivating…)  For me it’s a combination of being outside in the sun, amazing childhood memories and truly delicious food.  At my SW meeting a couple of weeks ago we discussed barbecues, and many people complained about how hard it is to stay on plan when you have one.  I disagree; I actually think that if you put a little thought into it, a barbecue is one of the easiest possible meals to keep healthy.  Here are a few of my barbecue favourites:

Home made burgers

These taste so much better than shop-bought ones, and are so so easy to make.  If you’re feeling particularly lazy/rushed, you can just shape lean mince into patties, making sure your hands are wet, and barbecue straight away (this works best with mince that has been frozen as it is slightly more moist.) Today, I made burgers from extra lean beef mince, 1/4 of a red onion, finely chopped, garlic granules, smoked paprika and a beaten egg.  I mixed this very well with a fork, then wrapped portions around a mini babybel light cheese.  This was my new thing to try this week, and it was so good – you definitely have to seal the burgers well though or cheese leaks onto the coal!

Quorn sausages

This was the first time I have had Quorn sausages for ages; I got the best of British ones, which are huge but only 2 1/2 syns each.  I had an oven cooked one last night, which was ok, and a barbecued one today which was delicious!

Halloumi cheese

Slice thinly and barbecue – amazing!  35g of this is a healthy extra choice on SW, so that’s how much I had.  The only problem with this is that it’s incredibly moreish.

Kebabs

I like plain meat and vegetables on skewers (don’t forget to soak them first!), but you can add any herbs or spices you like to liven them up.  My favourite is cherry tomatoes, yellow pepper and mushrooms with pork.

Sweetcorn

Corn on the cob is great to barbecue with a bit of salt and pepper – watch your fingers though!

If you’re doing a barbecue for lots of people, or attending one yourself, you can add to this with a selection of salads and jacket potatoes.

A lot of people worry about what to drink at barbecues.  I don’t really drink a lot of alcohol, but if I do have some I keep it light by going for a spirit and diet mixer.  My favourite one for summer is Malibu with Diet Coke.  Drinks like cider, lager or wine can add a lot of syns to an otherwise healthy meal.

I wonder if I can barbecue again tomorrow…?

Image
Mmm, baaarbecue!
