About three weeks ago it was my birthday. I don’t have a huge amount of spare money so I decided some time ago that instead of gifts I would ask for money towards an annual gym membership. I had to put a little money towards it myself, but most of it came from various members of my family. I joined last Tuesday morning and made my first visit on Wednesday. I didn’t have a formal induction, but the guy who showed me how to operate the machines I wanted to use gave me a good idea of the levels to use, and left me to do what I could.

Since then, I have been every day except for Sunday, and worked really quite hard. I have used the treadmill, recumbent bike, rowing machine, cross trainer and swimming pool, as I am trying to boost my weight loss and improve the health of my heart. Any other toning that happens is a bonus at the moment, but later I will look to use some weights and other equipment for toning. I am very lucky that my gym also has a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi, so every trip is like a spa visit!

I have found that the more I go, the more I want to go – and it keeps me more motivated to stay on track with my food, especially if my visit is in a morning. Apparently there has recently been some research which backs this up, as psychologically once the hard work has been done, most people do not want to waste it (in basic terms!) I’m back to my usual weigh-in day this week, so hopefully I will see the benefit of all this hard work on the scales as well as in my new-found sense of well-being!

