Just to clarify, I am not a vegetarian. I respect other people’s right to be one but it just isn’t for me. Having said that, I do think it’s a good idea to have a meat-free day every so often. For me, it’s a good chance to try other foods, especially pulses, which then make it into my regular diet. I think vegetarian diets have the potential to be very healthy, but it is not always guaranteed – I had a friend at school who went veggie but didn’t eat vegetables or pulses – her lunch most days was cheesy chips.

Today, I have had my usual breakfast, and the khichri I cooked over the weekend for lunch. For dinner I’ll be having cheese and potato pie with roast tomatoes and onions, what a yummy autumn meal! I have been using the food diary on the Slimming World website this week (I find I do much better when I keep track), and you can choose which plan to follow each day. Today I put in all my food and then realised that, being meat free, I could follow the Green plan today. I don’t usually change which plan I follow, so imagine my surprise when it altered my diary to give me extra slots for healthy extras – which means double cheese in the pie tonight. I was so confused that I had to send my group leader a text to check it was right!

So today is involving pulses, rice, potatoes and cheese, as well as lots and lots of fruit and veg. I’m looking forward to my dinner tonight as well, which is also a fairly new recipe for me. I’m feeling very healthy today, and aiming for a rainbow of fruit and veg – more on that later.

