You already know that I was disappointed with my result on Wednesday night.  I have thought it through, and read some of the lovely (and ego-boosting!) comments from people who read that post, and decided that I’m happy enough with the loss.  Any loss is better than none, and the most important thing is that I am making permanent, sustainable changes to my lifestyle.  With that in mind, let me tell you about my journey yesterday.

Yesterday I drove from the Midlands up to Yorkshire to see my parents.  There were loads of queues on the motorway, and the trip took about twice as long as normal.  Having sat in the car park that is the M1 for much longer than anticipated, we had to stop at the services for something to eat.  Well, aren’t service stations tricky to negotiate with a healthy eating plan in mind?!  My options were Burger King, a cafe, WH Smith or Marks and Spencer.  I discounted Burger King straightaway, as my parents had planned to get us a takeaway dinner and I wanted to save my syns for that.   I looked at the cafe, which was offering pie and chips, fish and chips or a mayonnaise covered baguette served with… you guessed it!.. chips!  So off I went to Smith’s to see what I could find.  Ginsters sandwiches (usually mayo-smothered as well), sausage rolls, pasties, crisps and to top it off, Krispy Kreme donuts.  I must have looked really indecisive as I left another shop empty-handed and went to M&S.  The shop has been rearranged, and I struggled to find the salads hidden in the back – but there were plenty more sandwiches and some ready-meals on offer.  Finally I managed to find something SW-friendly, and had an egg and new potato salad, followed by a pot of pineapple, melon and grapes.

As part of my SAS log that I’m doing this week (I think I mentioned it in an earlier post) I have to look back on my day each evening and find things that I am proud of, and then look forward to the next day, finding potential problems and preparing myself to deal with them.  I am proud of myself yesterday for not only making good choices of healthy food, but for actively seeking them.  Some time ago I went to a motorway services and had something to eat.  I’m embarrassed to admit this, but I had a trip to KFC, where I bought a large variety meal, and then to WH Smiths where I bought a box of three Krispy Kreme donuts and a bar of chocolate.  Then I went and sat in my car to eat it, because I felt embarrassed at my size to be seen eating that much food in public.  If it occurred to me that people would think ill of me for eating that much food, I told myself it was none of their business, and it was ok as a one-off.  Only now, looking back, do I realise that that was more than a one-off treat – it was excessive to put it mildly.  A one-off ‘treat’ would be one donut OR a smaller KFC meal – that’s the kind of thing that can fit in to a healthy lifestyle.

So I am proud that I chose wisely, planned my Chinese takeaway properly so I could make an informed choice, and so didn’t decide to throw caution to the wind and make yesterday one of those “oh stuff the diet” days.  And I am happy to know that following Slimming World properly doesn’t mean I have to give anything up.  I am learning to think things through and make better choices.  And the more I practise, the easier this will become for me, until it is a natural part of my new healthy life.  Every good choice I make is a small step on the path to become a healthier, slimmer me.

make-big-changes-in-small-steps

