As you know if you read my last post, I has lost 2.5lb at this week’s weigh-in. I can’t remember if I said in that post, but that loss came as a nice surprise to me, as I was unsure of how I had done over the week. The main reason is because the beginning of the week (my SW week being Thursday to Wednesday) was fairly noticeably off plan. Friday was my last day at work before changing jobs, so Thursday involved a (delicious) panini from the shop over the road, and Friday involved homemade cupcakes (note the plural there!) and an evening out for a meal, with dessert and a couple of drinks. On Saturday I was really struggling to get back on plan and ended up in Burger King, but finally, FINALLY on Sunday I got back to it.
So last Monday I started my new job, which hasn’t turned out quite how I thought it would. I don’t hate it, but I’m finding it quite dull compared to how it was described, and the travel to get there is quite troublesome, as it is on the outskirts of Birmingham! One of the positive aspects, however, is that it is quite far from any shops, and I only get a 30 minute lunch break – so I can only eat what I take with me. For someone who used to work in a town centre with an hour every lunchtime, this has been quite a change! I also can park right outside – I used to have to arrive so early to park that I had an extra hour to kill before work every day as well. I don’t think I realised how much I snacked before – even if it was on SW free food it was still unneeded food intake! Now I have three meals a day and a mid-morning snack and that is enough. I am looking for another new job, but I intend to keep that change as it has been very positive. So big changes afoot, and whilst it hasn’t worked out like I thought, at least I have been brave enough to try – six months ago I wouldn’t have had the confidence to apply, let alone walk into a new workplace.

