In 2011, when I was losing weight without the help of Slimming World, I trained for the Great Salford Swim. I completed it in May, raised about Ā£650 for charity, and was so proud of myself that I planned to do another one the following year. Unfortunately, what I actually did was to put on the weight I’d lost, with some extra to keep it company, and stopped exercising altogether.
Now, inspired by Sam (http://midsummer365project.wordpress.com), Nancy (http://myyearofsweat.wordpress.com) and my friend who wrote the piece about her gastric bypass last week, I have decided that in 2014 I will be doing another open water swim, and hopefully even beating my previous time.
I ummed and ahed about what distance to do – the half mile of the mile. The half mile I would definitely be able to complete – I can do that much in a swimming pool at the moment. But I have thrown caution to the wind, I decided that with six months to go, half a mile wouldn’t really be a challenge. So here it is, the challenge I am training for is the Great North Swim, in June 2014, a one mile open water swim in Lake Windemere – hopefully followed by a day or two staying in the beautiful Lake District. With that in mind, I am going swimming tonight, to work on building my distance and stamina.
Here is a teeny tiny photo of me completing the Salford Swim!

