Tonight we had curry for dinner, since it’s Friday night, and the temptation is to have a takeaway. Well so say the people in my SW group. I actually don’t tend to have that problem – I think it’s Mondays that can be tempting. Maybe it depends on your job and how stress fluctuates during the week.

Anyway, I’ve wandered off on a tangent. Back to the curry. Curry and other spicy foods are allegedly very good at speeding up your metabolism. I’m not sure about that, but I do know that a good curry is one of my favourite foods. This one is quick to make, healthy and syn-free if you’re following Slimming World.

Heat some Frylight in a heavy-based saucepan over a medium heat, and add 3 cardamom pods, 2 cloves 1/2 tsp cumin seeds and a piece of cinnamon. Heat until the cumin starts to pop, then add 1 diced onion, 2-3 crushed garlic cloves and 1tsp grated ginger (I use the stuff by Very Lazy, cos I am! but not the one in oil). Cook gently until the onion is starting to soften. Add 2 diced chicken breasts and 1/2tsp ground cumin, 1tsp coriander, 1/4tsp chilli powder (adjust to taste) and 1tsp garam masala. Sometimes I also add a bit of fennel, turmeric or ginger. Stir round so the spices coat the chicken and cook for about 5 minutes. Keep stirring as it has a tendency to stick (I learnt this the hard way). Add 1 tin chopped tomatoes, 1tbsp tomato puree and any veg you fancy – I like mushrooms in mine, actually I like mushrooms in anything – stir well and simmer. At this point I usually put the rice on to boil – don’t forget to rinse well first – and deem the curry done when the rice is cooked. If the curry starts to get a bit dry while it’s simmering, add a splash of passata or water if you don’t have any. Stir in 1/2tsp garam masala just before serving with the rice.

Sorry my recipes are a little vague sometimes, I have an aversion to weighing, measuring and timing (unless I’m baking) and I often adapt recipes after I’ve tried them to suit my tastes etc. Hopefully anyone who wants to try it will be able to follow my rambling instructions, if not leave a comment and I’ll try to explain better!

It serves two, by the way!

