I have been inspired by two other bloggers – Sam over at Midsummer 365 Project and Nancy at My Year of Sweat. If you haven’t visited, take a look, they are both amazing women! So, following their example I have decided to set myself a challenge for the new month. For the whole month of May, I will be doing at least 30 minutes of exercise every single day. I already go to the gym or swim 5 days a week, but I think that I need a step up.
I’ve found recently that for some of my workouts, especially when I swim, I’m not seeing a lot of improvement, especially on the cardio side, and I think the reason is complacency (or maybe a touch of boredom!) so I’m going to try some new things, and maybe switch out one of my swim sessions for another gym session – but I’ll talk to my trainer about that. I’m going to do a few things that I used to enjoy but haven’t done in a while, like yoga, pilates and dancing, try some new workouts and, of course, try to fit in more boxing – once a week just isn’t enough!
Switching things up a bit I think can only be a good thing – it keeps things fresh and will help me to exercise different muscle groups. It also eliminates the chance of cheating (yes, I had already worked out that I do 6 workouts over 5 days, so a little rearrangement could make life easier…) so that I will be adding in at least one extra hour of exercise every week. I also promise that I will blog a record of it, just to make really really sure that I’m not tempted to cheat, skip, etc etc.
I definitely have the exercise bug, but I’m still approaching this with a certain amount of trepidation. Wish me luck (I will need it), for tomorrow I embark on May Madness!
See exercise as your daily ritual

