Today is my second day on my May challenge, and I thought I’d try upping my cardio since I’ve been feeling like I’m not putting enough effort it. In the name of mixing things up, I tried a treadmill routine that I found on Nancy’s blog, titled Cardio Blast. Here’s a quick look at what was supposed to happen:

5 min warm-up
5 min section stepping sideways (0 incline, 1 minute at 2.0mph, rising by 0.2 mph every minute)
5 min section stepping sideways (2.0mph, 1 minute at 2.0 incline, rising by 2.0 every minute, up to 8.0)
5 min section stepping forwards (15 incline, 1 minute at 2.0mph, rising by 0.4mph every minute)
5 min section stepping forwards (0 incline, 30 seconds all out speed, 1 minute recovery x2, 30 seconds all out speed, 1.5 minute recovery)
5 min cool-down

Simple right?

So here’s what actually happened:

5 min warm-up + a few more minutes fiddling with the inclines to get an idea of what to expect
1 min stepping sideways at 2.0mph, 30 seconds stepping sideways at 2.2mph. Almost fall off treadmill, feel unexpectedly seasick and start to consider stairmaster (seriously) as a viable alternative then realise that would be worse. Try side stepping the other way for the remaining 30 seconds at 2.2mph. Consider giving up completely, then give self a metaphorical slap. 1 minute forwards at 3.4mph, rising by 0.2mph for the remaining minutes.
5 min section stepping forwards (3.0mph, 1 minute at 2.0 incline, rising by 2.0 every minute, up to 8.0)
5 min section stepping forwards (15 incline for 3 minutes – one each at 2.0, 2.4 and 2.8mph, 10 incline for 2 minutes – one each at 3.2 and 3.6mph)
5 min section stepping forwards (0 incline, 30 seconds all out speed, 1 minute recovery x2, 30 seconds all out speed, 1.5 minute recovery) NB my all out speed isn’t very fast, but I did do actual running for all 3 segments, so that’s an improvement.

I followed this with a 50 length swim, mixed strokes and including 30 lengths of intervals.

I’m not convinced by Nancy’s assertion that the Cardio Blast treadmill workout is fun, but I’m glad I gave it a go, and I think I did ok with it, even if not great. The treadmill told me I burnt over 300 calories anyway, so that’s good news! Day 2/31 is done, and now I need to think of what I might do tomorrow!

funny-treadmill-pic

