I’ve done a lot of blogging over the last week or so about exercise, but nothing about what I’ve been eating. If you saw my post a couple of weeks ago about eating 5 a day, you will have seen my creation that I named “Seven Speed Curry” because it has seven different SW speed foods in it. I also posted the photo on my new Instagram account (@26to12) and had a couple of requests there for the recipe. Since I made it up, the instructions will be a bit vague, but here goes!

Seven Speed Curry Spray some Frylight in a heavy-based large saucepan, and set on a medium heat. Add 3 cardamom pods, 1/2 tsp cumin seeds and a 1-inch cinnamon stick and fry gently for a few minutes. Then add a diced red onion, a couple of crushed garlic cloves, 2 handfuls of mushroom pieces (keep them quite big – I did mine in quarters) and some biggish pieces of yellow pepper. Cook gently until the onion starts to soften. While it’s cooking, cut a couple of thick slices of aubergine and sprinkle salt over them. Rinse a few handfuls of red lentils until the water runs clear (mine filled about 1/3 of my sieve) and add to the pan with a tin of chopped tomatoes, 1 tsp ground coriander, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp ground ginger and 1 tsp garam masala. Add about 1 inch of water and stir well, bring to the boil and then reduce to a simmer. Rinse the aubergine, cut into chunks and add to the mixture. Cook for however long the lentil packet says (I think it’s about 30 minutes), stir regularly and keep adding more water if it goes too thick. Just before you remove from the heat, stir through 1 tbsp tomato puree, 1/2 tsp garam masala and a large handful of spinach. Serve with rice and enjoy!

The second one is a recipe I got from my Slimming World group, and the instructions were very vague! Slimming World breakfast loaf:
Spray a loaf tin with Frylight, half three free or low-syn sausages lengthways and lay in the tin to cover the base and cover with beaten egg. Layer upwards until the tin is full, alternating egg with other breakfast foods, such as lean bacon, tomatoes, potatoes and mushrooms. Bake in a medium oven (I used gas mark 6) for about 45 minutes.
Those were the instructions I got, but I had to cook mine for well over an hour, and it still wasn’t completely set. I think for the next time, I may try cooking the non-egg ingredients first to reduce the amount of liquid that escapes into the egg, and use a metal tin (I used a silicon one). Having said that, it tasted good, kept well and was really filling, so I think perfecting the method can only improve things. This can be served hot or cold, and despite the name I found it great to have for a picnic-style lunch. (Photo to follow, once I find it again!!)

