This is having to be a catch-up post, which I’d hoped not to have to do for my May challenge, but time kind of got away from me this weekend! But I haven’t neglected my exercise, just the writing about it part. So then, a quick run-down of what I’ve managed to fit in!

Friday:
On Friday I went to the gym before work as usual, but instead of just doing my normal swim (I may have mentioned I feel I’ve been quite lazy with my swimming lately) I did:
10 minutes cross trainer intervals
5 minutes stairmaster (yes, voluntarily!)
10 minutes treadmill intervals – with a little bit of running thrown in
5 minutes rowing
20 minutes swim intervals

Saturday:
In the name of having a rest day, and having enjoyed last week’s yoga so much, I dug out my Yoga for Dummies DVD, and did the Daily Dozen, which takes about 40-45 minutes. It’s not too strenuous, but it got me moving and stretching, which was the main point!

Sunday:
I don’t know why I thought this was a good idea. No, actually I do – the blame falls squarely on Sam and Nancy, both of whom read my ramblings and cheer me on, and occasionally encourage me to try different things. I decided I would try tabata training, which is very high intensity interval training. The idea is you do 20 seconds of exercise as hard as you can, rest for 10 seconds and repeat 8 times. I downloaded a timer app for my iPod and away I went. I read on one of the resources they sent me, that you could alternate high impact with slightly less high impact, so I did
Galumphing (this isn’t what it’s actually called, but the best way I could find to describe it) – 3 sidesteps and touch the floor then back the other way
Squats
Star jumps/jumping jacks
Crunches
Not the most imaginative perhaps, but it worked. I worked hard, got very very out of breath and definitely got my heart rate up. And I enjoyed it!
When I’d got my breath back, I realised that was only 4 minutes of exercise, not 30, so I followed it up with the Corset Workout I found on Nancy’s blog. That looks simple on paper, but be warned, it’s tough! I had to stop and start to make it through, but I gave it my best shot!

So, only a brief run-down there, but that was days 9-11/31 completed.

Weekend Face

