I know, I know. I disappear. I don’t call, I don’t write…
I’ve had a surprisingly busy start to the week, which has meant a change to my routine. But I’ve worked around it and still managed to (just) fit my exercise in.

On day 19, I had Mondayitis. I had a distinct lack of enthusiasm for the gym, as well as a lack of time, so I went swimming. I did a 35 minute swim and managed 80 lengths – 3/4 mile. I did it at a steady pace, but I tried to stay focussed so that my “steady” pace didn’t get too lazy! It wasn’t very inventive, but that was day 19/31 complete.

Yesterday, I couldn’t go to the gym in the morning as I had a doctor’s appointment (my doctor does early morning appointments once a week) to discuss my mental health. We talked a lot about SAD and how to avoid it – he seems confident that that is my issue – I have another appointment in 2 weeks to discuss medication vs therapy (or both). But I digress. So no gym in the morning, and no boxing in the evening – work had a celebratory meal planned for a long service award and a 65th birthday. The meal was lovely – I stuck to plan throughout, until the dessert menu appeared! But I didn’t use any other syns and my crème brulee was a definite treat for me. Oops, digressed again (and now my mouth is watering at the thought of the food. For anyone interested, we went to Bellagio and had a lovely evening. So there was nothing for it but to exercise at home, but I didn’t fancy using a DVD. Instead I did 2 rounds (cycles?) of tabata, 8 minutes in total of side to side skipping (galumphing!), star jumps, mountain climbers and marching (I’m not very inventive!), and followed that up with 4 sets of 15 squats and 4 sets of 15 crunches. I finished up with 2 cycles of yoga Sun Salute for good measure. I probably should read up a little on exercises to do at home, if I plan to do it regularly, but this seemed to work, making day 20/31 complete.

This morning I went back to the gym, and I have to admit that I had missed it! I combined the weights routines I would usually do on Tuesday and Thursday (I have a PT session tomorrow,) and did:
Hip Adductor Machine – 4 sets of 15, 2 at 90kg, 2 at 110kg
Hip Abductor Machine – 4 sets of 15 2 at 70kg, 2 at 90kg
Leg Press Machine – 4 sets of 15, 3 at 140kg, 1 at 160kg
3 sets of 12 of:
Dumbbell bench press (8kg weights)
Single arm bent over rows (8kg weights)
Dumbbell Shoulder press (6kg weights)
Bicep curls (8kg weights)
Tricep extensions (6kg weights)
Lat pull downs (2 sets at 75kg, 1 set at 87.5kg)
Chest press (50kg weights)
Flappy arms (2.5kg weights)

All followed up with a 15 minute swim, which I took at a fairly gentle pace, since I was using it mostly to stretch my muscles. Definitely, definitely day 21/31 complete!

