A lot of people have recommended quinoa (pronounced “keen-wah” for some unfathomable reason) to me over the last year or so, and I spent a long time not eating it.  The other day I found this yummy recipe on Sparkpeople and decided to give it a go.  First problem was locating quinoa.  I went to Sainsburys (which isn’t my usual supermarket) because it seemed the most likely of my local shops to carry it.  I found where it should be, and a big empty gap.  So I approached the three chatting hardworking staff hovering by the tills and asked if there was any more.

Assistant 1: What’s tha’?
Assistant 2: (blank look)
Me: It’s spelled “quin-o-a” if that helps
Assistant 3: Oh, I thought that’s how you’re s’posed to say it
Assistant 1: If there ain’t none on the shelf we’ve run out, they’ve all been stocked this afternoon
Me: OK, thanks (toddles off feeling too middle class for words)

Eventually I found some and made the recipe, which is:

Ingredients

1 Cup of quinoa (washed)
2 cups unsweetened apple juice
2 cups light vanilla soy milk
2 tbl ground cinnamon
1.5 cups (one package) of crasins
2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

Makes 6 1- cup servings1. Rinse quinoa
2. Bring Quinoa and apple juice to a boil in a 12 quart pan
3. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes or until most of the apple juice is absorbed.
4. Add soy milk, cinnamon and crasins. Simmer, covered for another 15 mins, stirring occasionally
5. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla extract.

I had to find the conversions to grams for everything because I don’t have measuring cups (for those who aren’t aware, cups isn’t a common measurement in the UK), and I struggled with washing the quinoa because the grains are too small for my sieve.  I know, I know, there are way bigger issues in the world, so skating over that.

The portions look really small but it is insanely filling!  I had this and a banana for breakfast and I never even thought about having a mid-morning snack, which I almost always do.  Oh, and it was yummy too, so I’ll be making it again.  Another big success in trying new things!

