Today, I went to the gym before work to get some exercise time in.  For now I’m going to be alternating cardio days and weights/toning days until I get a proper routine of some description sorted.  So after yesterday’s graceful dancing, I went into the weights section and picked up some dumbbells.  I did a 5 minute warm-up on the treadmill and then 3 sets of 8 reps of:

  • bench press (4kg weights)
  • bent over row (4kg weights)
  • bicep curl (5kg weights)
  • tricep extension (3kg weights)
  • palm-in shoulder press (4kg weights)
  • upright row (4kg weights)

followed by 3 sets of 8 dead lifts (10kg barbell) and of course some stretches!

I might be a little bit achy tomorrow, I can feel it setting in a little now, and I definitely have to build back up to heavier weights, but I’ll get there.  I’m so out of practice that I had to look up some of the names, and I’ve just discovered a website specifically about dumbbell exercises, which I’m going to have a proper look at tomorrow.  All in all I feel pretty successful with day 2.

exercise-motivation-quotes-weight-loss-work-out-lose-weight-1

