Please tell me that there are other people out there who sometimes forget to take a towel to the gym?!!  That was Day 3; I went to the gym in the morning and then had to get ready for work.  Soooo disorganised!  Anyway, before the towel fiasco, I thought I’d experiment with some cardio to try and figure out where I’m at fitness-wise.  The answer is my fitness is slightly higher than I thought but nowhere near what I would like it to be.  I did 5 minutes each of:

Treadmill – mostly walking but I did have a little go at jogging, but I’m not sure I’m quite there yet…

Cycling – this actually went better than I thought, I tried to get some high and low speed intervals in which was pretty good, and I definitely worked up a sweat!

Rowing – I used to do this as a warmup when I was doing boxing training and it was a really good all over workout.  I had the resistance quite low for now, but I picked the speed up more than I thought I could.  Next time, I’m going to try to row further in the time before I look at moving the resistance any higher

Cross Trainer (elliptical) – I’m a fan of the cross trainer, although that might just be because I’m not used to feeling tall!  I did some higher and lower paced intervals on there as well, but I think I need to push myself harder next time, I was starting to flag towards the end.

For Day 4, I ventured into the weights section of the main gym.  It’s been a long time since I used barbells, but I was inspired by reading some articles on bodybuilding.com, which reminded me how much I used to love it.  I grabbed a gym bod to advise me since it’s been so long and he set me up for squats (hurray!) and dead lifts – even though I’ve done those recently I don’t think my form is very good, so I went for some advice.  I would always recommend getting help from the trainers at any gym – that’s what they are there for! – especially with weights, as doing it wrong can cause pretty bad injuries.  I did 3 sets of 8 of squats and deadlifts, both with 2x 5kg weights on the bar.  Then I took myself off to the weight machines (after I put my weights away – it really bugs me when people don’t!), and did 5 sets of 8 leg presses (120, 140, 160, 180 & 200lb) – that was supposed to be 3 sets but I got carried away!, 3 sets of 8 leg extensions (argh I can’t remember what the weight was!) and 3 sets of 10 lat pull-downs (62.5lb).  The last one really disappointed me; the last time I did it I was regularly doing 87.5, and working my way up to 100 so that’s a big step down.  But hey, onwards and upwards!

And now I’m over halfway through week 1 – I’m going to be so proud of myself when I get through it!

barbell

