B

 

Today’s word of the day is BANANAS (I feel a bit Sesame Street having a word of the day, but it makes me smile so I’m going to run with it!)  When I’m eating healthily, bananas are my go-to snack.  They are filling and last for a while – I usually have one with breakfast or as a mid-morning snack as I find them more satisfying than apples, for example.

Bananas are filled with useful nutrients – they are well-known for being a good source of potassium; potassium is helpful for muscle and nerve function.  Like most fruits, bananas are low in fat and high in fibre, which is why they keep you full for a while.  Bananas are also a good substitute for fats in baking; one of my favourite recipes is for a wholegrain banana bread which is a delicious treat, and if you’re into smoothies, bananas are a great ingredient to both thicken and sweeten them.  For more info about the benefits of bananas, have a look at this article from Livestrong.

 

minions-bananas

