Basically I suck at sticking to things!  I missed a day, and then another one… and then things spiralled out of control.  I think this might be a metaphor for my weight loss efforts.  But, as I have been reminded recently, no matter how many times I fall down, I keep picking myself back up and trying again.  So there is something to be proud of, I guess.

This week I have been back in the gym, walking in my lunchbreaks, and being much more aware of what I am eating.  I have, under recommendation, downloaded the My Fitness Pal app and I’m using it to track my exercise, weight and food.  Being more conscious of what I’m putting into my body has definitely been helpful – and so has the appearance of the sunshine!

Yesterday I had a fantastic day.  This isn’t really to do with my weight loss/exercise usual topics, but I’m going to tell you anyway because it made me happy.  My other half and I went into Birmingham, which is about a 25 minute train ride from where we live.  We had a good long walk up to the New Alexandra Theatre and picked up our tickets for a play called Bad Jews, then headed off for lunch – at Subway which I don’t do often but really love!  We walked back up and found our seats for the play, which was absolutely brilliant – well-acted and directed, clever, funny and thought-provoking.  I believe yesterday was its last day in the UK, but I would recommend it to anyone who gets the opportunity to see it.  Then we walked up to the Mailbox and had a wander round.  It is next to the Worcester and Birmingham canal, so we had a walk along there in the sunshine, then went for a cocktail (mine’s the bright green one)

WP_20160507_001

Afterwards we went to the Everyman Cinema for dinner and to watch Captain America: Civil War.  I hadn’t been there before but it was a lot of fun, really comfortable and quite nice to have a meal brought to our seats.  The menu is limited but good, I definitely would go there again.  Finally we had a dessert and a (soft) drink in the cinema’s bar after the film and headed home.  It was a long day and I feel like I did a lot – which has been great at giving me a boost!

So that’s why I’ve waffled on about my day out yesterday, because it has helped my mental health, and a boost to my mental well-being was definitely needed.  Today I’m a bit tired, but feeling really positive – and about to head out into my garden to try and clear it out ready for growing some veg and salad this summer!

