I’m in a full-on grump today for absolutely no reason.  Do you ever have that?  I do, and I know I’m grumpy but I can’t help myself.  It makes me feel like this:

It also makes me want to eat lots and lots of comfort food.  Chocolate, cakes, pizza, crisps, cheeseburgers… you get the picture.  So what is the best way to handle an attack of the grumps?  Well I can tell you the first thing I would have done this morning if I’d realised quite how cranky I was: I’d have left my purse at home.  A sure-fire way to avoid a trip to the junk-food shop (unless you fancy a few hours in a cell.)

Next thing, and not as easy as it sounds: keep myself busy and keep my mind off food.  Fortunately, being a finance-type person, this is my busiest week of the month so work has kept me out of trouble today.  I volunteer tonight after work and then go home to a nice dinner which will be sitting in the slow cooker waiting for me.

Finally, when I’m tempted, keep reminding myself that it’s not hunger causing me to eat.  This is the most difficult one, and it’s not always guaranteed to work.  I have a little voice in my head that will say “so what?” and steer me to the chocolate/cake/pizza etc etc anyway.  But it works some of the time and that’s a lot better than none of the time.

I also need to find a way to shake off the grumpy mood.  I think the drive home in the sunshine with some nice cheesy music will help me out.  I might even do the traffic light dance.

